March 19, 2012


Welcome to the first issue of the Canadian Yoga Alliance Newsletter. We are proud and excited to begin a new chapter in the evolution of CYA. This newsletter is for the Canadian Yoga Community and about the Canadian Yoga Community from coast to coast. As such, we welcome and encourage our readers to send in their thoughts, ideas, stories and pictures as well as to forward the newsletter on to others that may enjoy it but are not yet on the email list. We are also looking for regular writers and submissions from Yoga Schools or Businesses, so if you are one of these organizations or if you know of an organization, who would be interested in writing for us, please have them email me.

The Newsletter will come out four times a year as the seasons begin (Spring-March 20, Summer-June 20, Autumn- Sept 20 and Winter- Dec 20) and will also be available on our website in addition to a link on our Facebook page.

Coming up in the next newsletter: the Summer Solstice, Canadian Yoga Vacation destinations, as well as thoughts of how to take your Yoga with you on vacation. We will also look at one of the most widely known asana: Adho Mukha Svanasana (Down Dog). Be sure to watch your inbox for the next issue!

May the Spring season bring renewed spirits, renewed growth and an awakening from our winter’s hibernation.


Michelle Dionne-Nisbet


PS: Please submit all contributions for the Summer issue by June 1 to:

New Beginning

Spring Equinox is March 20th as the Sun enters Aries at 1:14am. It is the ‘Day of Furze’. 3 Alder. The Second Station of the Year.

I draw the ‘Raven’ card as the Medicine Totem for this story of New Beginning. The Raven sends us a message from the Void, The Great Mystery from which the Great Spirit emerged. I contemplate the Medicine of Raven & how it correlates to the CYA & this time of Great Awakening. Raven states that there will be a change in consciousness. We have earned the right to see and experience a little more of life’s magic. Perhaps CYA consciousness is about to expand? Raven’s color is that of the Void- A black hole in space that holds all the energy of the creative source. The iridescence of Raven’s Blue-Black speaks of the magic of darkness and a changeability of form & shape that brings ‘New Awakening’ in the process. Well, this is powerful stuff...

For Healing circles the medicine of Raven is present, guiding & dispelling disease or illness bringing the new state of wellness from the void of Great Mystery & the field of plenty. CYA is definitely about wellness & healing. Yoga flies like a Raven; healing & restoring the bodies & re-uniting students with the Great Spirit.

Raven is the power of the Unknown. Something special is about to happen. How will you respond to this time of New Beginning this Spring Equinox?

The Raven is a courier of intention. This Spring Equinox, burn some incense as the carrier of Raven medicine. Take the form of ‘Raven/Crow’ and let your intention soar magically to its destination from the Great Mystery. CYA is the Wing of the Raven, delivering a message from the Great Mystery to you.

Thank-you for reading and most of all…thank-you for sharing in all that you do!


Violet Pasztor Wilson

Canadian Yoga Alliance Founder

Spring Cleaning Rituals for Home and Body

Is it time for a bit of Spring Cleaning in your life?

For your home:

For your body:

Yoga Asana for Detoxification:

The 8 limbs of Yoga

The 8 limbed path introduced by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras has been around for thousands of years and read by millions of people. Some say the path is a hierarchy of rules where you must start at the bottom and work your way up to the top, to enlightenment. Others believe it is like a road map and you can work on one or more paths at the same time. How do you see it? Do you have a story, thought or example you would like to share about this age old wisdom? Perhaps something on one of the Yamas or Niyamas? Email me!

The 8 Fold Path

1) YAMAS: (5 Moral Restraints)

2) NIYAMAS: (5 Observances)

3) ASANA (8 postures)

4) Pranayama (Mindful Breathing)

5) Pratyahara (Turning Inward)

6) Dharana (Concentration)

7) Dhyana (Meditation)

8) Samadhi (Enlightenment)